Moribund The Burgermeister

Text písně Moribund The Burgermeister

Caught the chaos in the market square 
I don't know what, I don't know why, but something's wrong down there 
Their bodies twistin' and turnin' in a thousand ways 
The eyes all rollin' round and round into a distant gaze 
Ah, look at that crowd! 

Some are jumping up in the air - say, "we're drowning in a torrent of blood" 
Others going down on their knees, seen a saviour coming out of the mud 
Oh, Mother it's eating out my soul 
Destroying law and order, I'm gonna lose control 
What can I do to stop this plague spread by sight alone 
Just a glimpse and then a quiver, then they shiver to the bone 
Ah, look at them go! 

Bunderschaft, you going daft? Better seal off the castle grounds 
"This is Moribund, the Burgermeister, I'm going to keep this monster down, 
Somebody sent the subversive element; going to chase it out of town" 
No-one will tell what all this is about 

But I will find out 
I will find out 
I will find out 

This thing's outrageous, I tell you on the level 
It's really so contagious, must be the work of the devil 
You better go now, pick up the pipers, and tell them to play 
Seems the music keeps them quiet, there is no other way 
Ah, close the doors! 

"We've tried potions and waxen dolls, but none of us could find any cures," 
Mother please, is it just a disease that has them breaking all my laws 
Check if you can disconnect the effect and I'll go after the cause 
No-one will tell what all this is about 
But I will find out 
I will find out 
I will find out 
Mother you know your son 
When I say I will, I will 
They´ll be sorry 
I´ll make sure they´re sorry


Diskografie Peter Gabriel – Peter Gabriel

Revisited (1992)

Revisited (1992)

  1. On The Air
  2. Modern Love
  3. Indigo
  4. Perspective
  5. Waiting For The Big One
  6. Animal Magic
  7. Humdrum
  8. D.I.Y.
  9. Mother Of Violence
  10. Slowburn
  11. Exposure
  12. Moribund The Burgermeister
  13. Flotsam And Jetsam